Dizzy with It

Wow, what a summer. Charlotte has had some grand adventures with T1D on board thanks to incredible people who, perhaps hesitated, but ultimately felt that Ms. C needed and deserved adventure and empowerment. We all wish these things for our kids (or should), but having a chronic autoimmune disease that sets your child forever apart, dependent, and vulnerable is something most parents never consider. I am undeniably envious.

I’ve never been a worrisome mother; kind of astonishing since my elder brother died when I was 11. Rather, I’m a bit lackadaisical, eager for Max and Charlo to experience and learn from what comes their way. Yes, the good and ugly. I love spontaneity, but T1D has changed my ridiculous embrace of non-planning, non-focus, non-whatever-I-believed before. This is new territory for me. There is so much to consider now, it’s dizzying.

From stocking Charlo’s ever-present T1D kit daily with adequate needles, lancets, alcohol wipes, blood glucose meter, test strips, glucagon, and fast acting sugar for potential lows; to writing a 504 plan for school – a plan that designates her as a child with a disability (kick me now); to educating new teachers about Charlo’s imperative, life-saving T1D management (a clear source of annoyance to our principal); to buying not only school supplies but the juice and snacks that need to be stocked in Charlotte’s classroom in case of a low; to researching insulin pumps and continuous glucose monitors; to remembering all the things I need to keep going for Max; these things and so much more weigh on me. Whew.

Oh, and I need a job.

For this moment right now, I am going to be quiet and breathe. No, I’m turning on P!nk’s Raise a Glass, a feisty tribute to individuality and difference, and shaking my booty. This moment is mine.

3 comments on “Dizzy with It

  1. sue says:

    what bothers the principal?

    • Maman Main says:

      I don’t get the sense she takes T1D seriously – even after I took time to educate her and staff last year. She also irritatedly told me that parents commonly misunderstand 504 plans and their function. I did my research and she’s wrong. Both the ADA and JDRF and every T1D parent I know advocates the need for the plan. She suggests we get Charlo’s team together on the 10th – three days after school starts because teachers need the time before school to prep. T1D won’t wait three days. Maybe I’ll write another post on this.

  2. Katherine says:

    I’ll raise a glass with you, lady! It’s dissying, but you are managing the whirlwind roller coaster with aplomb. Being with you for two weeks on vacation was fantastic in many ways, but none more so than watching your adaptability now in managing T1D with Charlo. One thing is for certain, and that is that you still embrace a laissez-faire approach which allows Charlo to be a kid, undaunted and unafraid by boundaries that T1D might create for her mentally. Be proud, mama. You are raising Charlo manage a challenging disease without thwarting all the possibilities ahead of her.

    As for the principal, well, keep moving forward and be-damned the attitude. You are Charlo’s advocate, period.

Leave a Reply

